How we ranked these apps
- Timing: Whether feedback arrives while you speak, right after a phrase, or after another person listens.
- Precision: Whether the app claims to recognise words, score a phrase or rate individual sounds.
- Speaking context: Whether you practise isolated lines, guided lessons or free conversation.
- Language coverage: How many languages it offers and whether the pronunciation feature is limited to some of them.
- Value and reliability: Current prices, trial access and the complaints that keep coming up in recent reviews.
1. Lingrow: best for real-time feedback in conversation
Lingrow is an AI voice conversation app for speaking-focused learners, offering real-time feedback while you talk, a per-conversation feedback summary and letter-level pronunciation ratings for Korean.
Its roleplays cover 350+ scenarios across 15 languages, including Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, German and Portuguese. Feedback appears while you're speaking. When the conversation ends you get a summary of your grammar, vocabulary, fluency and pronunciation with specific tips, rather than a single score.
Korean is its most developed language, and the Hangeul course is where the pronunciation feedback goes deepest. Across 9 lessons it teaches all 40 letters, syllable blocks and batchim (final consonants). You say a letter, or a syllable built from it, and Lingrow rates whether you produced that Korean sound. It judges the vowels and the difference between plain and aspirated consonants. In a contrast drill you say 가, 카 and 까 in sequence, and it checks that the three sounds are genuinely different from each other.
The course also checks handwriting from memory, schedules spaced repetition with a per-letter strength grid and starts with a placement test. Our guide to the best Hangeul apps covers it in detail, and our AI language app ranking compares the conversation side with other apps.
The letter-level rating is Korean-specific, and the app is iOS only. Choose a cross-platform app if you need Android or the web.
Best for: Speaking-focused learners in any of its 15 languages, and Korean learners on iOS who want letter-level pronunciation ratings.
Price: Subscription with a free trial.
2. ELSA Speak: best for English-only pronunciation drills
ELSA Speak is an English-only pronunciation app for people learning English, offering real-time pronunciation feedback, word-stress guidance and a detailed speaking analysis.
ELSA Speak teaches English and nothing else. Its listing claims 8,000+ lessons and real-time pronunciation and word-stress feedback from its AI coach. The Speech Analyzer lets you speak freely and then gives feedback on pronunciation, intonation, fluency, grammar and vocabulary, plus an overall speaking score. You can pick an American, British or Australian accent and prepare for IELTS, TOEFL or TOEIC.
The feedback is real-time, but neither the listing nor the website says whether pronunciation is scored per sound or per word. So we can't say it rates individual sounds, only that it gives pronunciation and word-stress feedback and a score.
Recent reviewers report inconsistent recognition, especially on full sentences, and billing complaints are common: being charged at the end of the trial with no reminder, and difficulty cancelling. Lifetime licence holders say newer features are locked behind a new tier.
Choose ELSA for English pronunciation drills with an overall speaking score. Use Lingrow instead if you're learning any other language, or if you want feedback inside a conversation rather than in a drill.
Best for: English learners who want frequent pronunciation and word-stress feedback. English only.
Price: Around $20 a month or around $100 a year as of September 2026.
3. Speak: best for phrase-level feedback in lessons
Speak is a conversation-led language app for learners who want guided speaking practice, offering roleplays, free conversation and real-time pronunciation feedback.
Speak says its AI assesses your pronunciation, intonation and fluency, and gives real-time feedback on pronunciation and grammar. Its website describes immediate feedback on how you sound and how natural your phrasing is, not just whether the answer was correct. Everything it describes sits at the phrase and answer level. There's no claim of per-sound scoring.
Languages for English speakers are Spanish, French, Korean, Japanese, Italian and Simplified Chinese, with a 7-day free trial. Recent reviewers most often object to the price and to how much needs Premium. A few report missed words mid-sentence or a microphone that fails in some exercises.
Choose Speak for structured lessons that keep putting you on the microphone. Lingrow is the better fit if you want an end-of-conversation skills summary or Korean letter-level ratings.
Best for: Learners who want guided lessons with immediate phrase-level feedback.
Price: Around $18 a month or around $84 a year, Premium Plus around $40 a month, as of September 2026.
4. Praktika: best for corrections from an avatar tutor
Praktika is an AI avatar tutor app for learners who like conversational simulations, offering real-time feedback on every message, pronunciation coaching and fluency tracking.
Praktika says it gives real-time feedback on every message, with gentle corrections on pronunciation, grammar and word choice. The example feedback on its website comments on stress and sounds. Neither the listing nor the site describes a pronunciation score or says how individual sounds are judged.
It offers 12 language options, including English, Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French, German and Chinese, on iOS, Android and the web. Billing is the dominant complaint in recent reviews, including the annual price being charged the moment the trial starts and support not replying. Several reviewers find the sessions unstructured, and one doubts that the feedback uses the audio rather than the transcript.
Choose Praktika if an avatar tutor keeps you talking and you're on Android or the web. Use Lingrow for a structured summary after each conversation and letter-level Korean ratings.
Best for: Learners who want avatar-led conversations with gentle corrections.
Price: Around $10 a month or around $120 a year as of September 2026.
5. Pimsleur: best for a score right after you repeat a phrase
Pimsleur is an audio-first language app for learners who practise while listening, offering 30-minute lessons, phrase repetition and immediate Voice Coach scores.
Pimsleur covers 51 languages and is built around listening and speaking. Its website describes Voice Coach as real-time pronunciation feedback: you practise back to back with native speakers, then get instant feedback, instructions on how to improve and a high score when you've got it right. This is a score after each attempt, not feedback inside a free-flowing conversation.
The sources don't say whether the score works per word or per sound. AI roleplay with voice recognition is listed for Spanish learners. The first lesson in each language is free.
Reviewers praise how much it makes you speak and listen. The repeated complaints are that only lesson one is free, that the audio has no slow-down option, and that the app logs people out or stalls while loading lessons.
Choose Pimsleur for audio-only commuting with a pronunciation score. Choose Lingrow for feedback inside conversations and a written summary afterwards.
Best for: Audio-first learners who want to repeat phrases and get an immediate score.
Price: Around $20 a month for one language, around $21 a month or around $165 a year for all languages, as of September 2026.
6. Rosetta Stone: best for feedback against native-speaker data
Rosetta Stone is an immersion-style language app for learners who want guided pronunciation checks, offering TruAccent feedback, 25 languages and Chat Missions conversations.
There are now two Rosetta Stone apps. Rosetta Stone Classic is only for current Classic subscribers and existing enterprise or education users. New users are sent to Rosetta Stone Sapphire, and that's where the current TruAccent claim lives.
Sapphire's listing says TruAccent compares your voice to data from millions of native speakers and gives immediate feedback on your pronunciation. Neither the listing nor the website says whether it scores whole words or individual sounds, so we describe it as immediate feedback and nothing more specific. Chat Missions add free-flowing conversations across dozens of scenarios, with a 7-day free trial.
Recent reviews of the Classic app repeatedly mention speech recognition and microphone problems, with the app failing to register a reviewer's voice. Lifetime licence holders report being locked out, and several are confused by the Classic app being restricted to existing users.
Choose Rosetta Stone if you want immediate feedback against native-speaker data across 25 languages. Use Lingrow if you want feedback during a roleplay or letter-level ratings for Korean.
Best for: New Sapphire users who want immediate pronunciation feedback across many languages.
Price: Around $20 a month or around $159 a year on the website as of September 2026.
7. Babbel: best for a course with speaking checks
Babbel is a course-based language app for learners who want structured lessons, offering speech recognition, Guided Conversations and an AI conversation partner.
Babbel covers 14 languages with more than 60,000 lessons built by 200+ language experts. Its listing says you practise out loud with speech recognition to improve your pronunciation, and that Babbel Speak, an AI conversation partner labelled Beta, gives personalised feedback.
No source describes a pronunciation score or sound-level analysis. The listing says feedback is given but not how pronunciation is judged, so treat Babbel as a speaking check inside a course rather than a pronunciation tool.
Recent complaints focus on automatic renewal and cancellation. A couple of reviewers say the speech exercise grades slowly or wants an unnatural pronunciation before it passes you. Several find it more course-like than conversational.
Choose Babbel for structured lessons with speaking built in. Use Lingrow if conversation is the priority and you want a detailed review afterwards.
Best for: Learners who want a structured course with speech recognition and optional conversation practice.
Price: Around $18 a month for one language, around $90 a year, or around $108 a year for all 14 languages, as of September 2026.
8. Talkpal: best for wide language coverage
Talkpal is a GPT-based conversation app for learners who need a less common language, offering conversation modes, pronunciation corrections and a pronunciation assessment tool.
Talkpal supports 130+ languages. Premium includes personalised pronunciation and grammar corrections, Word Mode focuses on pronunciation and Call Mode gives audio-only practice. Its pricing page lists a pronunciation assessment tool on every tier, but nothing explains how it scores.
A free Basic plan gives you 10 minutes a day, and Premium has a 14-day trial, so it's easy to sample. Recent reviewers report that it mishears them and then corrects words they never said. Unstable Call Mode sessions, billing problems after cancelling and the small free allowance are the other repeated complaints.
Choose Talkpal when your language isn't on other apps. Choose Lingrow when you want real-time conversation feedback with an end-of-session summary.
Best for: Learners who need one app covering a very wide range of languages.
Price: Around $20 a month or around $120 a year as of September 2026.
9. Busuu: best for feedback from real people
Busuu is a structured course app for learners who value human input, offering courses in 14 languages, a pronunciation course and feedback from native-speaker community members.
Busuu connects you with native and fluent speakers who review the exercises you submit and leave feedback and tips. This is human pronunciation feedback: not automated scoring, and not real-time. Its website reports more than 105 million community interactions in 2024.
The listing also mentions a specialised course to advance your pronunciation, but it doesn't claim automated speech scoring. Busuu's strength is a person responding to your work, and its limitation is that you wait for one. Recent reviewers praise how clearly it explains why an answer is wrong, and complaints centre on adverts on the free tier.
Choose Busuu if feedback from real people matters more to you than instant scoring. Choose Lingrow if you want feedback while you're speaking and a summary the moment the conversation ends.
Best for: Learners who want human community feedback and don't need it in real time.
Price: Around $10 a month, with annual plans from around $70 to around $140, as of September 2026.
Quick comparison
| Rank | App | What its pronunciation feedback actually is | Languages | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lingrow | Real-time in conversation, post-conversation summary, Korean letter-level ratings | 15 | Subscription with free trial |
| 2 | ELSA Speak | Real-time English pronunciation and word-stress feedback, per-sound scoring not stated | English only | Around $20 a month |
| 3 | Speak | Immediate phrase and answer-level feedback in lessons and conversations | 6 | Around $18 a month |
| 4 | Praktika | Real-time conversational corrections, no scoring method stated | 12 options | Around $10 a month |
| 5 | Pimsleur | Score right after repeating a recorded phrase, per-word or per-sound not stated | 51 | Around $20 a month |
| 6 | Rosetta Stone | Immediate feedback against native-speaker data, scoring detail not stated | 25 | Around $20 a month |
| 7 | Babbel | Speech recognition plus feedback from an AI partner in beta, no pronunciation score stated | 14 | Around $18 a month |
| 8 | Talkpal | Pronunciation corrections and an assessment tool, scoring not explained | 130+ | Free 10 minutes a day or around $20 a month |
| 9 | Busuu | Native-speaker community members comment after listening, not real-time | 14 | Around $10 a month |
The bottom line
Lingrow is the strongest choice for anyone who wants feedback while speaking. It gives feedback during roleplays, then reviews grammar, vocabulary, fluency and pronunciation afterwards. Its Korean course goes further than anything else here by rating individual letters and syllables, though that part is Korean-specific and iOS only.
ELSA Speak is the clear pick for English-only pronunciation work. Pimsleur suits audio-first learners who want a score after each phrase, Rosetta Stone compares you with native-speaker data, and Busuu gives you a real person's opinion, later. Check exactly what an app promises before you pay, because a speech check that passes or fails you isn't the same as pronunciation feedback.
Frequently asked questions
Which language apps give real-time pronunciation feedback?
Lingrow, ELSA Speak, Speak and Praktika all claim real-time pronunciation feedback. Lingrow gives it inside voice conversations and adds a summary afterwards. Pimsleur's Voice Coach scores a phrase right after you repeat it, and Rosetta Stone's TruAccent gives immediate feedback against native-speaker data. Busuu's feedback comes from community members later, so it isn't real-time.
Does ELSA Speak work for languages other than English?
No. ELSA Speak teaches English only, with American, British and Australian accent options. It gives real-time pronunciation and word-stress feedback, feedback on intonation, fluency, grammar and vocabulary, and an overall speaking score. If you're learning Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French or another language, Lingrow gives you pronunciation feedback inside real conversations instead.
What is the difference between speech recognition and pronunciation feedback?
Speech recognition works out which words you said, so it can pass or fail your answer. Pronunciation feedback judges how your speech sounded against a model. Some apps assess a whole phrase, and Lingrow's Hangeul course rates individual Korean letters and syllables. Human feedback, like Busuu's community corrections, arrives after another person listens, so it isn't real-time.
Which app rates individual sounds rather than whole words?
Lingrow rates individual Korean letters and syllables in its Hangeul course. It judges the vowels and the difference between plain and aspirated consonants, and a contrast drill checks that 가, 카 and 까 sound different from each other. That feature is Korean-specific. The listings for ELSA Speak, Pimsleur and Rosetta Stone don't say whether they score per word or per sound.
Is Rosetta Stone TruAccent real-time?
Rosetta Stone says TruAccent gives immediate feedback on your pronunciation by comparing your voice with data from millions of native speakers. Neither the listing nor the website says whether it scores whole words or individual sounds. New users get the Rosetta Stone Sapphire app, where that claim appears; the Classic app is for current Classic subscribers and enterprise or education users.